Council of Arts Education Presidents


Retain Arts Teachers and Arts Education Advocacy Strategies

The Council of Arts Education Presidents (CAEP) first convened in November of 2002 and regularly assembles the president, president elect and past president of the SC Art Education Association, the SC Dance Association, SC Music Educators Association, SC Theatre Association, and Palmetto State Arts Education. In addition to sharing association updates and materials, CAEP works on initiatives such as the recruitment and retention of arts teachers, arts education advocacy strategies, and the creation and continued updating of a unified position paper on arts education entitled, “Where We Stand on Arts Education.”

Palmetto State Arts Education

Joshua Powell, Past-Chair
Bradley Wingate, Chair
Jeff Robinson Chair-Elect

View Website

SC Art Education Association

Cindy Riddle, Past-President
Joshua Powell, President
Amy Workman, President-Elect

View Website

SC Dance Association

Madeline Thiemann, Past President
Sara Monts, President
Traces Auman President Elect

View Website

SC Music Educators Association

Joe Gulledge, Past President
Colleen Marcou, President
Tom Finigan - President Elect

View Website

SC Theatre Association

Reed Halvorson, Past-President
Blair Dawkins, President
TBD, President-Elect

View Website

ABC Partners CAEP Members

SC Arts Commission

David Platts
Executive Director

Kimberly Washburn Motte
Arts Learning Director

SC Department of Education

Roger Simpson
Education Associate for the Visual and Performing Arts

Arts in Basic Curriculum Institute

Kim Wilson


Kelly Hall
Program Specialist